46 ENTITIES TRACKED · 46 COUNTEDLAST BUILD 13 OCT 2026 · 07:43 UTC
Is It Selling Me?
BGrade B

Tesco / Clubcard

Grocery · UK

The clause

You can stop our use of your data in this way by opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account or unsubscribing from our marketing emails.

Checked 04 Sept 2026 SourceIn context

Read from the Internet Archive's copy of 15 April 2026, because tesco.com refuses every client that isn't a browser. The policy is dated 21 January 2026. The refusal route is stated but not described: "opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account". The policy names that as the way to stop lookalike audiences on Meta and Google, and tailored TV adverts through Sky AdSmart. Both are built on Clubcard shopping habits. How many steps the opt-out is, and whether historic data goes with it, the document doesn't say. Recipients are named in part: four media partners by name, then "retail partners and selected brands" by category only.

How this grade was reached

  1. BBase grade, from what refusing costs you. The scale.

No modifiers applied. Final grade B.

The three axes

Each is evidenced separately and may have been read on a different day. The date under each clause is the date of that clause, not of this page.

What refusing costs you

What does saying no cost you?

A setting, depth unverified

You can stop our use of your data in this way by opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account or unsubscribing from our marketing emails.

Checked 04 Sept 2026 SourceIn context

Who receives you

Who else receives you, by name?

Named third parties

  • Named recipients4
  • CategoriesMedia partners (Meta, Google, dunnhumby and LiveRamp are the named examples), Retail partners and selected brands, Service providers, Tesco Bank (Barclays Bank UK PLC), Tesco Personal Finance and Tesco Mobile

Examples of our media partners include Meta, Google, dunnhumby and LiveRamp.

Checked 04 Sept 2026 SourceIn context

Whether the refusal covers everything

Does the refusal actually cover everything?

The document does not address 6 points about what the refusal covers.

  • Not statedWhether it applies to data already collected
  • Not statedWhether it covers in-store purchases
  • Not statedWhether it covers data bought about you
  • Not statedWhether it covers profiles inferred about you
  • Not statedWhether it binds a device or your account
  • Not statedWhether it expires

You can stop our use of your data in this way by opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account or unsubscribing from our marketing emails.

Checked 04 Sept 2026 · from the verdict's headline clause, not a separate readingSourceIn context

Who receives you

Tesco / Clubcard names 4 recipients.

Of those, we grade these

Right of reply

No reply

We wrote to Tesco / Clubcard on 07 Oct 2026 with the clause above and an invitation to comment. Nothing has come back.

Reuse this verdict

Writing about Tesco / Clubcard? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current, or take the data from the API.

Tesco / Clubcard is graded B, and a company that has earned that may say so with the verdict itself. The image links back to this page and is the live grade. If it changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and isn't for sale.

Tesco / Clubcard is graded B on Is It Selling Me