---
title: "Tesco / Clubcard: what refusing costs you"
url: "https://isitsellingme.com/entity/tesco/"
grade: "B"
category: "Grocery"
last_checked: "2026-09-04"
---

# Tesco / Clubcard

**Grade B.** What refusing costs you: A setting, depth unverified.

Grocery · UK

## The clause

> You can stop our use of your data in this way by opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account or unsubscribing from our marketing emails.

Source: https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/zone/privacy-and-cookies-policy, checked 4 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/retail_media/tesco/policy/2026-09-04T185528Z.html

Read from the Internet Archive's copy of 15 April 2026, because tesco.com refuses every client that isn't a browser. The policy is dated 21 January 2026. The refusal route is stated but not described: "opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account". The policy names that as the way to stop lookalike audiences on Meta and Google, and tailored TV adverts through Sky AdSmart. Both are built on Clubcard shopping habits. How many steps the opt-out is, and whether historic data goes with it, the document doesn't say. Recipients are named in part: four media partners by name, then "retail partners and selected brands" by category only.

## How this grade was reached

- Base grade B, from what refusing costs you.
- Final grade B.

## The three axes

### What refusing costs you

Finding: A setting, depth unverified.
The way to refuse: Opt out of all marketing from Tesco in your tesco.com account, or unsubscribe from marketing emails

> You can stop our use of your data in this way by opting out of all marketing from Tesco via your tesco.com account or unsubscribing from our marketing emails.

Source: https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/zone/privacy-and-cookies-policy, checked 4 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/retail_media/tesco/policy/2026-09-04T185528Z.html

### Who receives you

Finding: Named third parties.
Named recipients: 4.
Categories: Media partners (Meta, Google, dunnhumby and LiveRamp are the named examples), Retail partners and selected brands, Service providers, Tesco Bank (Barclays Bank UK PLC), Tesco Personal Finance and Tesco Mobile.

> Examples of our media partners include Meta, Google, dunnhumby and LiveRamp.

Source: https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/zone/privacy-and-cookies-policy, checked 4 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/retail_media/tesco/policy/2026-09-04T185528Z.html

### Whether the refusal covers everything

Finding: The document does not address 6 points about what the refusal covers.
- Not stated: Whether it applies to data already collected
- Not stated: Whether it covers in-store purchases
- Not stated: Whether it covers data bought about you
- Not stated: Whether it covers profiles inferred about you
- Not stated: Whether it binds a device or your account
- Not stated: Whether it expires

## Where your data goes next

- [dunnhumby](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/dunnhumby/): Unrated (Adtech)
- [LiveRamp UK](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/liveramp/): Unrated (Identity graphs)
- [Meta (Facebook / Instagram)](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/meta/): Unrated (Platforms)
- [Google](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/google/): C (Platforms)

## The company's response

Asked on 7 October 2026. No reply.

---

Page: https://isitsellingme.com/entity/tesco/
How grades work: https://isitsellingme.com/methodology/
Last checked: 4 September 2026
