---
title: "The New York Times: what refusing costs you"
url: "https://isitsellingme.com/entity/nyt/"
grade: "C"
category: "News"
last_checked: "2026-09-21"
---

# The New York Times

**Grade C.** What refusing costs you: A setting, depth unverified.

News · US

## The clause

> To exercise this right, click the "Your Privacy Choices" link on the bottom of the webpage where your information is being collected or go to "Account" and then "Settings," and "Privacy Settings" and click the "Your Privacy Choices" link there.

Source: https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/articles/10940941449492-The-New-York-Times-Company-Privacy-Policy, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/publishers/nyt/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

## How this grade was reached

- Base grade B, from what refusing costs you.
- −1: Recipients are sold to, or described only by category rather than named.
- Final grade C.

## The three axes

### What refusing costs you

Finding: A setting, depth unverified.
The way to refuse: The "Your Privacy Choices" link in the page footer, or Account → Settings → Privacy Settings; also by email to privacy@nytimes.com

> To exercise this right, click the "Your Privacy Choices" link on the bottom of the webpage where your information is being collected or go to "Account" and then "Settings," and "Privacy Settings" and click the "Your Privacy Choices" link there.

Source: https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/articles/10940941449492-The-New-York-Times-Company-Privacy-Policy, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/publishers/nyt/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

### Who receives you

Finding: Sold on.
Categories: Third-party advertisers and their agencies, Identity partners (LiveRamp, Unified ID 2.0), Marketing platforms (Meta, Google), Direct-mail marketers, for print subscribers, Event and promotion sponsors.

> If you're a U.S. print subscriber, we may provide your name and mailing address (among other information) to other companies that want to market to you by mail. This may be a "sale" of personal information under the law of some jurisdictions.

Source: https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/articles/10940941449492-The-New-York-Times-Company-Privacy-Policy, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/publishers/nyt/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

### Whether the refusal covers everything

Finding: The document does not address 5 points about what the refusal covers.
- Not stated: Whether it applies to data already collected
- Not stated: Whether it covers in-store purchases
- Not stated: Whether it covers data bought about you
- Not stated: Whether it covers profiles inferred about you
- Not stated: Whether it expires

> If you have an account with certain Times Services (specifically nytimes.com, cooking.nytimes.com, nytimes.com/crosswords, the New York Times app, the New York Times Cooking app and the New York Times Games app) and are logged in, we will save your preference and honor your opt-out request across browsers and devices so long as you remain logged in.

Source: https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/articles/10940941449492-The-New-York-Times-Company-Privacy-Policy, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/publishers/nyt/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

## Where your data goes next

- [The Trade Desk (US) / Unified ID 2.0](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/tradedesk-us/): C (Adtech)
- [LiveRamp (US)](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/liveramp-us/): C (Identity graphs)

---

Page: https://isitsellingme.com/entity/nyt/
How grades work: https://isitsellingme.com/methodology/
Last checked: 21 September 2026
