---
title: "Equifax UK: what refusing costs you"
url: "https://isitsellingme.com/entity/equifax/"
grade: "E"
category: "Credit bureaus"
last_checked: "2026-09-18"
---

# Equifax UK

**Grade E.** What refusing costs you: You have to ask.

Credit bureaus · UK

## The clause

> You may withdraw your consent or object to your personal data being used for marketing activities by Equifax or our customers at any time. You can notify us directly using the contact information provided in SECTION 1.

Source: https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub/ein, checked 18 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/brokers/equifax/marketing_notice/2026-09-18T110813Z.html

Graded from section 10 of the Credit Reference and Related Services notice, which Equifax's reply of 15 September 2026 named as the notice governing its marketing services. Those are financial pre-screening, suppression, open register supply, mover data and postcode-level profiles. They're supplied to customers in eleven listed sectors and to two named resellers, Acxiom Limited and CACI Limited, on the basis of legitimate interests. The way out is to notify Equifax, which adds some of your data to suppression files it may share with customers. The notice also says that leaving the open register stops future access but that companies may keep using details already obtained. Equifax's consumer direct-marketing notice is separate and, Equifax says, involves no onward sharing; until 22 September this entry had been graded from that notice, and the change is recorded on the corrections page.

## How this grade was reached

- Base grade D, from what refusing costs you.
- −1: Recipients are sold to, or described only by category rather than named.
- Final grade E.

## The three axes

### What refusing costs you

Finding: You have to ask.
The way to refuse: Notify Equifax using the contact details in section 1 of the Credit Reference and Related Services notice; it adds some of your data to marketing suppression files, which may be shared with its customers.

> You may withdraw your consent or object to your personal data being used for marketing activities by Equifax or our customers at any time. You can notify us directly using the contact information provided in SECTION 1.

Source: https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub/ein, checked 18 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/brokers/equifax/marketing_notice/2026-09-18T110813Z.html

### Who receives you

Finding: Categories only.
Named recipients: 2.
Categories: Charity, Finance, Fast-moving consumer goods, Home and family, Legal, Lifestyle, Marketing services providers, Media, Motoring, Retail, Travel.

> We supply Marketing Services data to our customers and resellers.

Source: https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub/ein, checked 18 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/brokers/equifax/marketing_notice/2026-09-18T110813Z.html

### Whether the refusal covers everything

Finding: The document does not address 6 points about what the refusal covers.
- Not stated: Whether it applies to data already collected
- Not stated: Whether it covers in-store purchases
- Not stated: Whether it covers data bought about you
- Not stated: Whether it covers profiles inferred about you
- Not stated: Whether it binds a device or your account
- Not stated: Whether it expires

## Where your data goes next

- [Acxiom UK](https://isitsellingme.com/entity/acxiom/): E (Brokers)

## The company's response

Asked on 31 August 2026. Clarified, 15 September 2026.

> Thank you for reaching out and providing Equifax with the opportunity to comment prior to your publication.
> To clarify how our notices, data processing, and transparency framework operate, please note the following context:
> Equifax Privacy Hub Architecture: Equifax UK maintains a central Privacy Hub (https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub) structured around modular, activity-specific privacy notices. Rather than applying a single all-encompassing policy, each notice outlines a specific processing scope—clearly distinguishing direct consumer services from credit reference agency activities, debt management, and B2B commercial marketing products.
> Consumer Direct Marketing (No Onward Sharing): The MyEquifax and Website Privacy Notice at https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub/privacy-notice applies strictly to direct communications sent by Equifax to our own registered consumers and website users regarding Equifax products (collected under the PECR soft opt-in rule). Equifax does not pass, sell, or disclose personal data collected under this notice to any third party for their independent marketing purposes. Because onward sharing does not occur for this data, there is no onward disclosure mechanism to detail or opt out of.
> Strict Data Segregation: Personal data collected under this consumer notice is strictly walled off and never flows into Equifax’s commercial B2B marketing databases or services.
> Commercial Marketing Services (Separate Notice & Explicit Disclosures): Where Equifax operates commercial B2B marketing products that involve third-party data sharing (such as supplying public Open Register data for postal marketing), these activities are governed under a separate notice: the Equifax Credit Reference and Related Services Privacy Notice at https://www.equifax.co.uk/privacy-hub/ein. Third-party disclosures, dataset limits, and individual opt-out/objection routes for these B2B services are explicitly detailed in Section 10 of the notice.
> We hope this provides helpful context on how our Privacy Hub is structured and how each notice accurately reflects its respective processing scope. As you finalise your publication, please ensure this additional context regarding our notice architecture and non-sharing model is reflected appropriately alongside your entry.

---

Page: https://isitsellingme.com/entity/equifax/
How grades work: https://isitsellingme.com/methodology/
Last checked: 18 September 2026
