---
title: "Amazon (US): what refusing costs you"
url: "https://isitsellingme.com/entity/amazon-us/"
grade: "C"
category: "Marketplaces"
last_checked: "2026-09-21"
---

# Amazon (US)

**Grade C.** What refusing costs you: A setting, depth unverified.

Marketplaces · US

## The clause

> You may adjust your personalized advertising preferences by visiting Your Ads Privacy Choices.

Source: https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GX7NJQ4ZB8MHFRNJ, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/platforms/amazon-us/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

## How this grade was reached

- Base grade B, from what refusing costs you.
- −1: Recipients are sold to, or described only by category rather than named.
- Final grade C.

## The three axes

### What refusing costs you

Finding: A setting, depth unverified.
The way to refuse: The "Your Ads Privacy Choices" page, which the notice names but does not describe

> You may adjust your personalized advertising preferences by visiting Your Ads Privacy Choices.

Source: https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GX7NJQ4ZB8MHFRNJ, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/platforms/amazon-us/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

### Who receives you

Finding: Categories only.
Categories: Amazon.com, Inc. subsidiaries, Third-party service providers, Ad companies (advertising identifier, not name).

> We provide ad companies with information that allows them to serve you with more useful and relevant Amazon ads and to measure their effectiveness. We never share your name or other information that directly identifies you when we do this.

Source: https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GX7NJQ4ZB8MHFRNJ, checked 21 September 2026. Archived copy: https://github.com/jgarpotter/isitsellingme-archive/blob/main/captures/platforms/amazon-us/policy/2026-09-21T124206Z.html

### Whether the refusal covers everything

Finding: The document does not address 6 points about what the refusal covers.
- Not stated: Whether it applies to data already collected
- Not stated: Whether it covers in-store purchases
- Not stated: Whether it covers data bought about you
- Not stated: Whether it covers profiles inferred about you
- Not stated: Whether it binds a device or your account
- Not stated: Whether it expires

---

Page: https://isitsellingme.com/entity/amazon-us/
How grades work: https://isitsellingme.com/methodology/
Last checked: 21 September 2026
